Band and jazz students earn honors
Band and jazz students earn honors
Posted on 03/27/2017

The Henry Sibley Wind Ensemble received a Superior Rating at the Minnesota State High School League (MSHSL) Regional Contest on February 28. Congratulations, students!  

Congratulations are also extended to the following band students who received the highest honor of “Best in Site” at the MSHSL Solo and Ensemble Contest held at Simley High School on March 14:

Wind Ensemble Clarinet Ensemble:  Sydney Truran, Tyler Columbus, Keyla Bentanzos, Lillian Smith, Jessica McAllister, Jenny Yang, and Grace Sullivan.

Buddy Rundquist, 11th grade - Tuba Solo with a score of 39/40

Sydney Truran, 12th grade - Clarinet Solo with a perfect score!

Several students also earned Superior Ratings at the MSHSL Solo and Ensemble Contest:

9th Grade
Dennis Canada
Ashley Carlson
Tony Koetz
James Landsman
Jessica McAllister (2)
Calvin Millet
Mason Schreiner
Sylvia Soukup 

10th Grade
Sarina Boley
Daniel Bolin
Bea Cheatham
Jaymee Gulsvig
Roberto Patricio Lucas
Michael Rosario
Madisyn Vanasse
Lindsey Willwerscheid
11th Grade
Austin Armon
Sophia Barnard
Keyla Bentanzos
Anna Dupont (2)
Emily Gallagher
Erin McCulloch
Julia Michienzi
Coco Moog
Lillian Smith 
12th Grade
Tyler Columbus (2)
Victoria Garner (2)
Maddie McDermott
Buddy Rundquist
Grace Sullivan
Sydney Truran (2)
Ben Wirrer
Jenny Yang

On March 18, the following students were recognized as outstanding musicians at the Duluth Jazz Festival:

Nico Ibarra - guitar
Justin Celetti - bass

In addition, Vic Fischer, drums, and Sydney Truran, piano/voice, were recognized for their outstanding performances in both jazz band and jazz combo.

The Henry Sibley Jazz Combo was named “Best in Site” at the event. Jazz combo members are Nico Ibarra, Wakene Mojo, Peter McKenzie, Tyler Columbus, Justin Celetti, Vic Fischer and Sydney Truran. 

Congratulations to all of the students and directors on their outstanding performances and awards!