Winter sports wrap-up
Winter Sports Wrap-up
Posted on 03/17/2016

Season highlights from Henry Sibley High School winter athletics:

Boys’ Basketball – Head Coach: Lernell James
Senior captains Louie Garibay, Isaiah Robinson and Zach Edwards helped guide the Henry Sibley boys’ basketball team to a 5-11 record and fifth place finish in the Metro East Conference. Edwards was named all-conference, while Garibay and Robinson picked up all-conference honorable mention awards. Robinson was also named the most valuable player by his teammates. Senior center Roy Mack was named most improved for the Warriors. Henry Sibley finished the 2015-16 season with an overall record of 7-19.

Girls’ Basketball – Head Coach: Scott Wadie
With just one senior, captain Pilar Garcia, on the roster, a youthful Henry Sibley girls’ basketball team posted a 13-14 overall record during the 2015-16 season, including 7-7 mark and fourth place finish in the Metro East Conference. Ninth grader Tori Nelson and sophomore Ally Tetzlaff were named All-Metro East, while eighth grader Jaelyn Orth was an all-conference honorable mention. Orth was also chosen as the most improved player by her teammates, while Nelson was selected as the team’s MVP.

Dance Team 
– Head Coach: Molly Engle
The Henry Sibley Dance Team found itself back in the Class AAA State Dance Team Tournament after a one-year absence. Captains Leah Boudreau, Ashley McDew, Maddie Novitzki and Chloe Ward helped lead the team to the Section 3AAA High Kick championship and a second-place finish in the section for Jazz. Henry Sibley also claimed the Metro East Conference championship in High Kick and placed third in Jazz, averaging out to a second-place finish overall in the conference. Novitizki, the team’s MVP, was joined by McDew and Ward as All-Metro East selections. Boudreau, Caitlin Ballin and Naomi Black, meanwhile, were all-conference honorable mentions. Black was also chosen as the most improved dancer for Henry Sibley.

– Head Coach: Jen Hogan
Sophomore Sophie Redding added to her decorated career with multiple individual honors during the 2015-16 gymnastics season. Behind first-place finishes in the vault and the floor exercise, as well as second-place results in the uneven bars and balance beam, Redding earned her second-consecutive all-around Metro East Conference Championship. Redding would go on to claim the Section 3AA title in the vault and place third on the bars, securing a trip to the Class AA State Gymnastics Meet where she would emerge as the state champion in the vault! Redding and captain Sami Bruce were both all-conference selections for the Warriors, while Gretchan Bruestle was an all-conference honorable mention. Bruce and co-captain Morgan McCarthy helped lead Henry Sibley to a 5-2 record in duals on the year, while a season-best team score of 131.85 placed Henry Sibley second at the Metro East Conference Championships.

Boys’ Hockey 
– Head Coach: Corey Hessler
Captains Max Rosenfield, Adam Tschida and Max Buell were among 13 seniors to take the ice this season for the Henry Sibley boys’ hockey team. Fellow senior Nick Mahmood was the lone All-Metro East Conference selection for the Warriors, while Buell and juniors Sam Ohmes and Charlie Harrity received all-conference honorable mentions. Ohmes, a center, and Harrity, a goalie, shared the team MVP honors for the Warriors, while junior forward Tony Cooper was named most improved by his teammates. The Warriors finished the 2015-16 season with an 8-19 record overall, including a 2-10 mark in the Metro East Conference.

Girls’ Hockey 
– Head Coach: Allie Duellman
The Henry Sibley girls’ hockey team skated to a 7-20 overall record under first-year head coach Allie Duellman. The Warriors were led on the ice by senior captains Ashley Linarte and Julia Wetzel-Edstrom. A goalie, Wetzel-Edstrom was named the team’s most valuable player and also received an all-conference honorable mention. Sophomore forward Laura Friedmann was the sole All-Metro East Conference selection, while Madi Kemp and Annie Gydesen joined Wetzel-Edstrom on the honorable mention list. Melissa Teal was chosen as the most improved player for the Warriors this season.

Nordic Skiing 
– Head Coach: Eric Friberg
A team-record six all-conference honorees powered the Henry Sibley girls’ Nordic ski team to its second-consecutive Metro East Conference championship. All-conference awardees included captains Jamie Herridge, Maddie McDermott, Greta Prokosch and Liz Whitcomb, as well as Emma Boehm and Laura Skemp. The Nordic Warriors also placed four members on the all-conference honorable mentions list: Nica Malmgren, Riccarda Bausch, Anna Klein and Allie Prokosch. Whitcomb, the team MVP, and Herridge each qualified for the State Nordic Ski Racing Meet, placing in the top 100. Skemp, a ninth grader, was selected as the girls’ most improved skier.

On the boys’ side, captain Dillon O’Leary was named most improved, while Ben Church was selected as the team MVP. Church and O’Leary, along with Nathan Whitcomb, were all-conference honorable mentions for the Nordic Warriors. 

Boys’ Swimming 
– Head Coach: Greg Schmidt
Two separate relay teams totaling six individuals earned a trip to the Class A State Swimming and Diving Meet for the Henry Sibley boys’ swimming team. Competing in the 200-yard freestyle relay were Christian Garcia-Heublein, Matt Bachman, Alex Malen and Tyler Heino. Garcia-Heublein and Heino were joined on the 400-yard freestyle relay team by Sam Altshuler and Joe Weikert. Altshuler and Heino served as captains for the Warriors, alongside Danny Gjengdahl. Heino was also named the MVP for the Warriors, while Willard Lee was chosen as the most improved swimmer. 

– Head Coach: Prentice Smith
Junior Sakai Kelly compiled a 42-9 individual record during the 2015-16 season, adding team MVP and All-Metro East Conference honors to his 5th place finish in the Class AA State Wrestling Tournament. Kelly was the lone state tournament qualifier for the Warriors, but he and fellow captains Sam Pressman, Ben Kemp and Riley Groh helped lead the team to a 15-6 overall record on the year. Groh and Carlos Gallegos received all-conference honorable mentions, while Tyrik Sann received an All-Metro East Conference award. Sophomore Juan Gonzales was selected as the team’s most improved wrestler.